Bitless Horse Association
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Boarding and training

3 posters

Go down

Boarding and training Empty Boarding and training

Post by Cyndi Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:45 pm

Okay, I'm new to all this, so please excuse my ignorance.

To those of you who board your horse: If you remove your horse from the property for training or breeding, or whatever, and the horse is gone for an entire month or more, are you still required to pay for board at your barn? Does it vary with different barns? Do you not pay if your horse isn't there? Do you pay whether your horse is there or not?
Cyndi
Cyndi

Back to top Go down

Boarding and training Empty Re: Boarding and training

Post by Sydney Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:42 pm

Your in Ontario. You don't pay if your horse is there. If your boarding barn is asking for board, even though they are not offering care of your horse then that is illegal.

However they can ask you to pay a deposit to keep a stall etc at the barn, which is understandable especially if there is a waiting list.
Sydney
Sydney

http://www.nurturalhorse.com

Back to top Go down

Post by FlorayG Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:38 am

in the UK it varies - some places expect you to pay full amount (why should they keep a place empty for you for no income?) and some want a reduced rate. I would never not pay anything because if I did that they could let my place while I was gone.
FlorayG
FlorayG

Back to top Go down

Post by Cyndi Wed Apr 01, 2009 10:07 am

The barn owner/manager told me yesterday that I am expected to pay the regular boarding fees while Fanny is away for training. She said that they take all the expenses of the year and average it out so that the amount I pay is the same each month, rather than paying more in the winter and less in the summer; or paying less for board each month, but being charged for any fencing that goes up, etc..