Bitless Horse Association
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My Introduction.

5 posters

Go down

My Introduction. Empty My Introduction.

Post by renoo Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:19 am

Hello. I am from Latvia, and my horse is kind of a mixed blood Latvian Warmblood gelding, currently four years of age (and a half).

I started riding when I was quite small, but not very seriously. Always dreamed of a horse, but never though I could really have one. And then, on my 16th birthday I got the best present ever - a nice, kind of rideable, darker chestnut mare. Happy was the summer I spent training with her over jumps, and riding in the woods and then... either something in her not-so-very-happy earlier years, or an unlucky sliding, but she became incurably lame. I was quite desperate, because I didn't have any relatives that could take a lame horse into a retirement home for free board, slaughterhouse was not an option (I was negatively surprised with the amount of people who suggest me THAT as a solution My Introduction. Icon_evil )... so I was stuck with riding other horses and just walking around with the mare....

of course, nobody did ride without bit - except riding to and back from the pasture (that was quite far) with only halter, bareback, holding another horse...

Then I was advised to breed her, what I did, and so my dream horse came into this world. until he was weaned, I managed to find a good retirement home for the mare, and I started my way to starting a young, black stallion.