Bitless Horse Association
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help!!

3 posters

Go down

Help!! Empty Help!!

Post by Meg Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:12 pm

I've been riding Zack (ex-racehorse) bitless for several months now and have had very few problems apart from steering sometimes.
Before I got my Dr Cooks I experimented with various bits and they all seemed ok for a week or two and then all the same issues would come back - head tossing, bunny-hopping and jogging mainly.
The bunny-hopping had been completely eliminated with the BB and the head tossing and jogging almost so.
Then Sunday I went out for a hack with a friend on the farm where our livery yard is based which turned into a real 'white knuckle ride' - he got in front and jogged and spooked all the way round Rolling Eyes - I put it down to the weather (cloudy and windy) and also perhaps because it was a fairly new route for him.
Then this afternoon (teatime) we went out for a short hack on a route he knew well and he was exactly the same or I should say worse!!
They both spooked at something (not sure what) and then he just took off - not a real bolt - it varied between a very fast trot and a canter but I could not stop him, I tried to circle him but he had set his head in the direction of home and that was where he was going. I just sat back and pulled with every ounce of strength I had and he was taking no notice at all pale
Eventually he realised that he had left his friend about half a mile behind and stopped to look for her - and I'm afraid I took the opportunity to get off and walked him home in hand.
I'm not proud of that but there is a road to cross between where we were and home and I was not taking the chance!!
When we got home my friend who we had been out with said in no uncertain terms - 'He needs a bit! I don't think you should ride him out in that again'.