Bitless Horse Association
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

question from the monty roberts website

5 posters

Go down

question from the monty roberts website Empty question from the monty roberts website

Post by fin Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:52 pm

Would anyone like to have a go at answering this one? I would suggest converting to bitless but wouldn't be confident about backing this up. If anyone else gets regular emails from this site perhaps we could all send in our replies. The Idea is that people post their replies and at the end of the week Monty writes his answer.

Monty,
I rode horses as a young person until I graduated from High school.
Everything as far as tack was provided or came with the horse I bought.
Now I am 50 yrs. old and am trying to get back into riding. I recently
bought a 4 yr old horse that has been trained for trail riding. I saw
pictures of my horse doing trail exercises and I think it had a western
bit, but the lady who sold me the horse gave me an English saddle and a
snaffle bit with no curb chain.
Everything has been fine for 4 months until last weekend
when we were riding and we came upon a pasture with 2 burros. My horse
freaked out and was terrified by the burros even though they were in a
pasture and could not get to him. He tried to run away and the only way
I could stop him was to keep turning him in tight circles and not let
him get going at all. I would get him stopped and try to talk calmly
to him and then the burro started braying loudly and he freaked again.
This whole process went on for at least 45 min. while I worked with the
horse to keep it from bolting and trying to get it to calm down. I did
not feel safe or in control of the horse.
He would just shake his head and keep trying to bolt. I
am just glad I thought of the tight circle maneuver or I would have
been a goner and I am too old for that!! Now I am wondering if I need