Bitless Horse Association
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

riding lessons

+4
Sydney
FlorayG
mazrush
Cyndi
8 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

riding lessons Empty riding lessons

Post by Cyndi Sat Nov 22, 2008 2:03 pm

I started riding lessons again this morning, with a new trainer, Jason. He came highly recommended by a friend of mine. When she was about to give up hope that one of her horses was ever going to accept a saddle and rider, he saved the day. I had booked Fanny in for training next spring, and since Jason also gives riding lessons, I thought it would be good to take lessons from him as well.

I was very pleased with his riding philosophy. He says that we should use our voice, seat and legs to ask a horse to do something before we use our hands (reins). The horse I rode today is a champion barrel racer, and this morning she had a lot of "go", but was so nice and sensitive to subtle cues. She had a hackamore on (sorry, I don't know the difference between the different styles to know exactly what kind she had on), so I'm thinking that Jason will be open to using Fanny's bitless bridle in the spring.

We (another adult woman student and I) were discussing how easy it was for Jason to put the saddle on the horses, and how heavy Western saddles are, and I mentioned that I use a light treeless saddle. Jason asked what kind it was and then went on to say that he is a (or THE) Canadian rep for Bob Marshall treeless saddles. So...since he was open to treeless saddles, I asked him if it'd be okay if I brought my treeless saddle in for lessons, so that I can get used to riding in it. He said that'd be great!! Woo Hoo!!